Now I will gloat about India and not show you any pictures. Sorry.

Not out of maliciousness, just because I can’t seem to put pictures onto my blog from my phone!

India is…a country which totally defies adjectives, really! I could tell you it’s a bigger version of Nepal which might give you an idea but…that’s not really India. I could tell you the buildings are dirty, that litter is only absent in the largest tourist attractions, that people WILL try to sell you things and, unlike in Nepal, ‘no thank you’ doesn’t desist them (just ignore them) but that’s not really India. I could tell you how broadly people here smile, how children wave and shout ‘hello!’ and try to shake your hand as you walk past, how beautifully and colourfully the women dress and how much there is to learn here among the ancient temples, forts and palaces about this country’s vast and eventful history. If you hold all these strands together in your head somehow, you’d probably have as much of an idea about India as I do right now!

There are so many places I wished I could stay longer, and some which, though I’m glad I’ve seen them, I probably wouldn’t go back.  Suffice to say, I’ve been wanting to come here for 6 years and I’m not disappointed 🙂

2 thoughts on “Now I will gloat about India and not show you any pictures. Sorry.

  1. It sounds wonderful, Beccy. And very real. A lovely description of a beautifully complex country, thank you for sharing it with us. We all miss you in the office, but happy to get your updates. 😊

    Like

Leave a Reply

